• photo slide
  • photo slide
  • photo slide
  • photo slide

Faculty Profile

featured image

Name: Ramprasad Ramamurthy
Title: Professor
Affiliation: Institute of Materials Science
Department: Materials Science & Engineering
E-Mail: rampi.ramprasad@uconn.edu
Personal/Lab Website: http://rampi.ims.uconn.edu/
Program/Department Website: http://www.mse.engr.uconn.edu/ramamurthy-ramprasad
Office Telephone: (860) 486-4102

Keywords | Categories: catalysts, computational materials design, dielectrics, first principles computing, Institute of Materials Science, interfaces, materials informatics, Materials Science and Engineering, rational materials design

Professional Summary

Prof. Ramprasad received his B. Tech. in Metallurgical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India, an M.S.degree in Materials Science & Engineering at the Washington State University, and a Ph.D. degree also in Materials Science & Engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. After a 6 year stint with Motorola’s R&D laboratories at Tempe, AZ, he joined the Department of Materials Science & Engineering at the University of Connecticut in the Fall of 2004. Prof. Ramprasad’s area of expertise is in the development and application of first principles and data-driven computational tools, and more broadly in the utilization of such methods for the design and discovery of new materials, especially dielectrics and catalysts. His research is funded by the Office of Naval Research (ONR), the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Department of Energy (DOE), ACS Petroleum Research Fund (ACS-PRF), the Electrical Power Research Institute (EPRI), the Air Force Office of Fundamental Research (AFOSR), and industry. He has authored or co-authored over 120 peer-reviewed journal articles, 3 book chapters and 4 patents. He has been a Guest Editor for the Journal of Materials Science, delivered over 150 invited talks at Universities and Conferences worldwide, and has organized several international symposia. Prof. Ramprasad is an elected member of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering, and the recipient of the Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, the Max Planck Society Fellowship for Distinguished Scientists, and the United Technologies Corporation Professorship for Engineering Innovation.