• photo slide
  • photo slide
  • photo slide
  • photo slide

Faculty Profile

featured image

Name: S. Pamir Alpay
Title: Professor and Department Head, MSE
Affiliation: Institute of Materials Science
Department: Materials Science & Engineering
E-Mail: p.alpay@ims.uconn.edu
Personal/Lab Website: http://alpay.ims.uconn.edu/
Program/Department Website: http://www.mse.engr.uconn.edu/s-pamir-alpay
Office Telephone: (860) 486-4621

Keywords | Categories: conducting oxides, defect microstructures in functional materials, electrothermal properties of materials (IR detection, ferroic and multiferroic materials, Institute of Materials Science, materials for electrical contacts, Materials Science and Engineering, multiscale modeling of materials, on-chip heating/cooling), polarizable semiconductors, tunable dielectrics for microwave devices

Professional Summary

S. Pamir Alpay received his PhD in Materials Science and Engineering in 1999 from the University of Maryland where he worked on the physics of polydomain heterostructures in ferroelectric thin films. He was a post-doctoral research associate at the Materials Research Center at the University of Maryland until 2001. Dr. Alpay then joined the Department of Materials Science & Engineering (MSE) of the University of Connecticut (UConn) where he holds a joint appointment with the Department of Physics and is affiliated with the Institute of Materials Science. Prof. Alpay is currently serving as the Department Head of MSE at UConn. His research is in the general area of functional materials including ferroelectric, ferromagnetic, and shape memory thin films and multilayer heterostructures, compound semiconductor films/nanostructures, functionally graded ferroics, and conducting oxides. Dr. Alpay was the United Technologies Corporation (UTC) Associate Professor in Engineering Innovation from 2008-2010, was awarded the UConn Outstanding Junior Faculty Award in 2004, and received an NSF Early Career Development (CAREER) Award in 2001. He was elected a Member of the Connecticut Academy of Sciences and Engineering in 2012 and is an Editor for the Journal of Materials Science since 2011.