PhotoPrabhakar Singh to Lead Connecticut Global Fuel Cell Center

Dr. Prabhakar Singh has been selected Director of the Connecticut Global Fuel Cell Center at the University of Connecticut following an international search. Read More

PhotoSchool Names Five UTC Professors in Engineering Innovation

Dean of Engineering Mun Y. Choi recently announced the selection of five faculty members to receive the United Technologies Corporation (UTC) Professorship in Engineering Innovation award. Read More

PhotoAlumnus John Krenicki an Energy Leader

Reliable, reasonably-priced energy has reemerged in the last year as among the greatest needs facing the nation, and aligned with it are complex questions about environmental degradation, global climate change, economic disparities and limited water resources. Read More

Photo100 Chemical Engineers of the Modern Era

Dr. Cato T. Laurencin, vice president for health affairs at the UConn Health Center and dean of the medical school, has been named among "100 Chemical Engineers of the Modern Era" by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Read More

PhotoDouglass Family Establishes Scholarship in Engineering

Alumnus Michael Douglass (B.S. Electrical Engineering, '79) and his wife, Tamela Richards, recently donated $25,000 to the University of Connecticut to establish an undergraduate scholarship in electrical engineering. Read More

PhotoPaper Featured in Nature Physics

Doctoral candidate Mehdi DaneshPanah, along with his advisor, Dr. Bahram Javidi, UConn Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, and Dr. Edward A. Watson (Wright Patterson Air Force Base) have garnered high profile recognition for their research. Read More

PhotoTeam Lands $750K for Biocomputing Research

An interdisciplinary team of researchers from UConn and the universities of Florida and Minnesota captured a $750,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to conduct research involving molecular computing. The three-year project is led by principal investigator Dr. Sanguthevar Rajasekaran. Read More

PhotoUCMA Lands Major Chapter Awards

The UConn chapter of Material Advantage (UCMA) received two international awards at the 2008 Materials Science & Technology Conference & Exhibition in Pittsburgh. The honors included one of only five Chapter of Excellence Awards along with the World Materials Day Award. Read More

Nominate an Outstanding Alumnus!


Do you know of an exceptional UConn engineering alumnus who has made his or her mark on the engineering world? We want to know!

Nominate Now!


bar-shalom picture

Dr. Yaakov Bar-Shalom, Marianne E. Klewin Professor in Engineering and Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, was presented the 2008 IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications in October 2008. Please read the story here.

School of Engineering © 2008. To unsubscribe please email